Husband’s birthday cake: vanilla

Hello everyone,

I’ve been away for a while: life got completely insane. Between traveling to Portugal to baptize my daughter, random toddler tantrums, dog parasites, and moving to our first house next week, I barely had time to breathe let alone bake!

But, at the end of April it was my husband’s birthday. And I, of course, made him a nice cake. I wanted to be creative with flavors… but he asked for vanilla cake. Sigh, so boring! I did give it a little spin though with fresh strawberries as filling and lemon zest in the batter. Unfortunately I had to use the same old recipe from Wilton but it is turning out better as I pIMG_0396perfect measuring, timing, and butter/eggs temperature (room temperature of course!).

So, here’s a picture of my vanilla cake, with strawberries, and a whole lot of my husband’s favorite vanilla frosting (again, this man is as vanilla as it gets! And by the way, he ate the entire cake. In TWO days. I used the same Wilton tips to make leafs, flowers, and hand write “Happy birthday”.

 

Leave a Reply

